a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Robin Day

No, not the BBC presenter, who was so famously rude to Minister John Nott, whom he described as "a transient, here-today and, if I may say so, gone-tomorrow politician." prompting the latter to stalk off the live TV interview.  A moment that made television history and still brings a smile to my face. I'm all in favour of discomforting the pomposity of our politicians.

But no, this is not about Sir Robin, but  instead, it is apparently National National Robin Day, which  is held every year on the 21st of December and was created by the charity, Songbird Survival, to raise awareness of the challenges that birds, such as robins and other wildlife, face during the cold winter season.

Of course, having grown up watching Monty Python, you only have to say "Brave Sir Robin" to me, and I can see Eric Idle being serenaded as the cowardly knight who always runs away to live another day.

A busy day today, trying to catch up with some of the chores that have gone undone, whilst we have had covid.  In addition to the grocery shopping I managed to find time to drop in on Dad in his care home.  His voice is so quiet its very hard to have any sort of a conversation with him and I'm really not sure he actually knows who I am now, although he's grateful for the visit and its good to see him.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.