KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Rotting mice skulls?!

When the Christmas cheer
doesn't quite go to plan.. hmm
I blame instagram.

So I'd seen these lovely reindeers on the Waitrose instagram page..  that's the start of any good middle class story.. they were strawberries dipped in chocolate with little edible eyes and red icing noses.  So sweet. So festive.  So easy looking..

I had the idea in my back pocket as something christmassy to attempt.  Today my hand was forced a little earlier than I expected as Ben had a dentist appointment after school and during the day I had a text cancelling it due to illness.  Ben loves a dentist appointment, I could predict he would be angry it was cancelled so I thought I'd use my chocolate reindeers as a metaphorical carrot to ease the pain.  I had strawberries, I had chocolate and gratifyingly, I had pretzel antlers.  All good. Admittedly I didn't have edible eyes but I had raisins.. and I didn't have icing noses but I had cranberries.  How clever I thought I was.

Fast forward to the carnage you see before you.

I couldn't stop laughing.  
I texted the evidence to Mr KCNQ2Haiku and he asked "why do they look like rotting mice skulls?"  It seemed a fair question.
A good friend offered a more gentle appraisal and congratulated me on my depiction of the evil mice from the nutcracker :-/
My mum just said she hadn't laughed so hard in ages.

Ben however is happy with his creation and in fairness, what's not to like.. chocolate, strawberries and pretzels.  Still, I'm keeping an eye on them and will be keeping my nutcracker close by me tonight in case I need protection from the Evil Mouse King!  

Mental note: must buy a nutcracker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.