A day in the life

By Shelling

Present time

We have the winter solstice today, a positive day for me normally. I like it when we turn this way, the best part of winter is still to come and we're heading for light.

My first fever free day, which also felt like a relief. After a shower and breakfast it felt quite normal. Marianne, a friend who I've helped with posters and technical assistance invited me for lunch, a real Christmas plate with all homemade stuff. And, she liked the Mulled wine I brought.

At two, I went for the next event of the day, a gathering organised by the councils cultural department to make us feel taken care of . Nice, actually. Many people I've never seen or spoken to before and I stayed for about an hour. We were offered a Christmas present too, which I brought home with me. When I opened it I realised that someone must have given it a thought, wanting to give us something that we all might need in the dark times we live in. It's  a solar panelled radio with Fm-band, Am-band and WB (connect to phone I guess). It can, apart from the solar panels also be charged via cable or, manually via the handle. When it's charged you can even emergency-charge the phone which gives enough power for a 4-5 minutes call. There is also a flash lite with three strengths that also have a SOS-function, when the light button is held, a strong sound signal is heard and the lamp is flashing. And it's, of course very small and easy to carry with you. Feels good to know that at least the cultural department will be kept informed during a crisis. It's made in China, I choose to have no second thoughts about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.