A day in the life

By Shelling

The system

I felt well enough to go to the shopping centre to renew my food supplies. They are a bit low after my time of illness. Also, I'm invited for lunch at a friends place tomorrow, and thought I'd give her a bottle of a good mulled wine. You can get them non- alcoholic in the normal shops but I think they are quite disgustingly sweet so I got mine at the "System bolag", the System company. As many of you know we can only get our alcohol through the sales place run and controlled by the Swedish government.

The background is that, in 1850 a major copper mine in mid-Sweden wanted to do something about their workers alcohol misuse. I can imagine ruined families, injuries and death. A worker used as much as 88% of the money he was supposed to pay the rent with, according to statistics of the time. The company took control of all the sales of alcohol in the area and the profit was used for improving the social conditions for their workers and their families. The idea spread to Gothenburg who copied the system and also decided to take control over all alcohol sales in bars and restaurants of spirits, wine and beer, you also had to be 18 to buy alcohol. All in order to control the vast drinking. The idea spread to more cities and in 1938, Swedens government decided to make it a nation wide system and the name System bolaget, 'company', was founded.

The company has undergone many changes over the years but I think we are in favour of  the idea. There are never any sales campaigns, the wide selection and level of knowledge is amazing. These days, you can also order certain brands through Systembolagets site and pick it up in the shop at no extra cost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.