misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Welcome Home-- really!

Here's the new wren house up on a dead white pine tree. The bittersweet vine is just leafing out around it. So far I have not even heard the wren's song. They usually nest up in these pines. Well, the house is available.
Today I am trying to get a Rose-breasted Grosbeak in the camera. When they are outside the window eating, my battery is in the charger and the replacement got warped. I hope they stay around for a while. I've seen 2 males. They only arrived yesterday evening with a flourish along with a lot of other new and familiar birds migrating in that includes the nearly 25 Rosy House Finches claimed they were starving and nearly empties one feeder before sundown.
There's an unusual sparrow (I think it is a sparrow) that almost matches the pictures of a White Crowned sparrow... except for the beak colour. Last evening I got a fairly good capture of one through the window screen. Today 4 more have arrived. Never seen this sparrow before. They are ground nibblers. Speaking of which:
I praised the blackbirds this morning and considered taking their photo as they pecked on the freshly cut, sodden lawn --it rained all yesterday and last night. I think and hope they are pecking up the myriad of slugs hatching in the moisture.
This coming week I shall invest my life savings in slug bait and hope that helps. I also use contact table salt which provides immense satisfaction to this gardener as I watch them ooze to death. There is what seems to be an excellent nematode for slugs in the UK. I tried to buy it but it cannot be imported because the USDA thinks it will harm other snails. Are they nuts? That was rhetorical.
I live on a bog and the slugs do too. What does one do when the neighbours are literally pests?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.