Living my dream

By Mima

Double dough

It’s been nonstop since I woke up this morning. I was due at G’s to give her a hand in her garden at 9.30. And while I don’t celebrate Christmas, in the spirit of the season I got a couple of sourdough loaves baked first thing, so that I could take one to her. My oven is so small that it’s one loaf at a time. The second one is a gift for a friend who is dropping by tomorrow.

After the weeding and pea-straw spreading session at G’s it was home to chase around the garden before the forecast rain arrived. Almost inevitably it didn’t! There was a long steady thunderstorm rumbling away to the west over Danseys Pass and beyond, but it remained a distance away.

Nevertheless I got a heap of things picked…raspberries, broad beans, the first outdoor cauliflower and the first courgette. My diet is getting more expansive every day.

And I watered a couple of the raised beds. They dry out relatively fast and I have to keep an eye on them. If the rain doesn’t appear in the amount that’s forecast there will be more watering tomorrow.

I must have done more than this, but already I’ve forgotten…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.