#NoHomeKit

It's been a while since I've been able to get to a Bonnyrigg Rose game, and I didn't fancy it tonight since I expected to be standing in the rain. Indeed, when I turned up the small covered areas of the ground were packed - but it made for a good atmosphere (see extra).

As part of Shelter Scotland's #NoHomeKit campaign to highlight homelessness, Scottish league home teams are playing in their away kits over the next few days. Hence I saw Bonnyrigg Rose playing in all yellow, but Kieran Hall was an unused substitute, so I didn't see the shirt that I sponsor worn on the pitch!

The game was entertaining, with Rose coming back from a fine early Stranraer goal that sent up a spray of raindrops from the net beside me as it whistled into the top corner. It seemed to be heading for a nervous 2-1 win when, eight minutes before time, a long ball led to a horrible collision between a Rose striker and the Stranraer 'keeper as they both competed for the ball. They were both flat out for some minutes, and the 'keeper was wheeled off with a broken collarbone. This was a double misfortune, as it was the Rose player who had got to the ball, and the resulting penalty was scored: spot the ball! Stranraer soon got one back, and the 8-10 minutes of injury time seemed to take an age! The win was Rose's first since 11 October, and lifted them off the bottom of League 2. Such is the tightness of the 10-team league that they are only three points below fourth place.

Santa was in attendance, and handed out selection boxes to all the kids who attended - a nice touch!

Earlier, I'd gone into Edinburgh for a last trip to my office before the building closes, and a visit to Mum's flat to deliver a couple of Christmas letters to people who had sent her cards, and to pick up a load more. However, lack of addresses meant that I was only able to respond to three. On my way back, I bought a new fish tank, after the old one cracked when Kermit knocked over a heavy earthenware jug which then hit the glass. K normally looks after the fish, but they've survived an afternoon in the new tank. However, there's no sign of the two shrimp that I bought!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.