Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Christmas Eve

I am not in the slightest bit religious but I do love Christmas, even though it can have some stressful aspects to it.  I think it dates back to a childhood spent in the church choir; my parents weren't religious either but involved us with the church in the choir, Cubs and, for my sisters, the Brownies and Guides, as part of our education.  Their idea was to let us see what it was all about and make up our own mind about it when we were old enough, which we did!  However, I have happy memories of singing the Christmas Carols in church and in particular, around the wards of the local maternity hospital where we were then treated to a superb spread of sandwiches, pies and cake.  My mother always reminded me of the year when I got home afterwards and threw up on the doorstep as she opened the front door, having eaten far too much.

I still like listening to the traditional Christmas carols and music, and my nod to Christmas is a picture of the local church as we passed by this morning.  I hope everyone has a lovely Christmas whether you celebrate it, acknowledge it or just simply know about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.