"Unto you this day a child is born..."

This is the bible that has been in my family for nearly 200 years, my most cherished possession.  My gramma would read the Christmas story in the Gospel of St.Luke to me when I was very young and I re-read it every year. I took a comparative religion course in college and the professor, who was very humorous, said something to the effect, "If I were going to start a new religion I think I would have used a more inspiring story than that of a teenage mother giving birth in a smelly stable in the poorest section of town and visited by the lowest of the low, shepherds."  But that is the very reason it is so compelling and why on this day around the world the story is still told over 2,000 years later.  Have a very Merry Christmas! And, Winslow wants to pass on solicitations from the patrons of the Back Porch Cafe!  (extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.