Christmas stories

Around the central story of Christmas so many other stories have been woven and in so many different genres.    

My picture is the central nativity tableau from the German "windmill" which sits on our dining table through this season and  revolves driven by candle power, complete with trumpeters, shepherds and wise men. 

There is a wonderful miscellany of  the written variations, published by the British Library,.  which I bought some years ago and return to again and again at this season.  

This morning I chanced upon two things in it  I hadn't read before and are worth recommending - Kipling's bitter dark poem "Christmas in India" and the slightly spooky but very evocative short story by George Mackay Brown "The Lost Boy".  There are of course many more. 

Enjoy them all if you get the chance, and a happy Christmas to all my fellow blippers.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.