Feorlean

By feorlean

Christmas tree (in training)

We went to the nativity and carol service in Kilmodan Kirk yesterday evening which was taken by the elders given that the charge is presently without a minister.   The children's nativity play was organised by local volunteers too and the church was packed.

I was sitting next to a wall with photos of many of the past ministers and there is a real sense of continuity and community in such a place - I have included that image and one from going into the church (built in 1783 on an older church site ).  as my extra pictures.

When we got back home the moon was shining and just as I was closing the gate I saw the picture I have also added as an extra - moonshine through clouds and trees.

Today is much cloudier, and wet yet again.   At lunchtime we walked up through the forest and this detail  of one of the spruces by the track caught my eye.   There has been a lot of growth this year and what was, just recently, a replanted woodland  after harvest is now - once again - a thick forest.  

Continuity once again because it will not perhaps be all that long before the crop is taken, for the second time since we have lived next to it. 

So Happy Christmas to all who drop by this journal and to those whom I visit - as well as to all who blip.   There is a community here too, and one that seems to be thriving again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.