LesTension

By LesTension

IT'S MOTORHEAD SUNDAY

It's not only Motorhead/Petrolhead Sunday, it's also Christmas day.  Here's wishing a Merry Christmas to all my Blip friends.  I trust Santa was good to you because, as we know, you've been good Blippers all year.
~
Beautiful vintage MG running in this year's WeatherTech International Challenge at Road America.  I'm unsure of the vintage...I'm guessing 50s or 60s...but I'm sure someone out there will draw a bead on the proper year.  Why this one on this day?  It's Christmassy Red.......and I could see Santa showing up in one of these and giving the reindeer the day off.
~
Best viewed in Large.
~
Truth be told, I've always wanted one of these, Lucas electrics and all.  I could see me driving around town on a warm summer evening inhaling bugs as I went.  The following was gleaned from the Internet:

But first, let us get the jokes out of the way to clear out our system for the knowledge to come.
The Lucas corporate motto: “Get home before dark.”
If Lucas made guns, wars would not start.
Lucas holds the patent for the short circuit.
Lucas – Inventor of the intermittent wiper.
Lucas – Inventor of the self-dimming headlamp.
The three position Lucas switch – Dim, Flicker and Off
The Original Anti-Theft Device – Lucas Electrics.
Lucas is an acronym for Loose Unsoldered Connections and Splices

Turns out that Lucas was much maligned and any issues with his components were likely due to age and individual owners not understanding what they were doing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.