A Nightmare After Christmas

On This Day In History
1610: Hungarian countess' torturous escapades are exposed

Quote Of The Day
"I wish I had been born a man. I would have killed thousands in battle, taken over countries, burned witches - I would have been a hero."
(Countess Elizabeth Bathory)

Think of all the most notorious serial kilers in history. What do they all have in common? They are all men! (Ptooo!) It is time to take up the cause of the Countess Of Cannibalism and gain greater representation for female psychopaths. In her time, the Countess Of Bathory tortured, killed and feasted upon an incredible 650 local peasants. She probably could have chowed down on many more but, when the local peasant population began drying up she started munching on the aristocracy. That was one step too far, so King Matthias II assigned Gyorgy Thurzo, the Palatine of Hungary, to investigate.

Blathory was caught by Thurzo in the act of dining on one sumptuous maiden, while a second lay dead in the basement and a third languished on the border between life and death in her gynaeceum (which was actually a torture room for daughters of the gentry.) The servants who aided and abetted the Countess were mercifully tortured and executed, while the Comtesse de Humain Cuisine had to suffer the ignimony of castle arrest for three years until she passed away without any opportunity to increase her impressive body count.

Thoroughly enjoying my latest read, started two days ago. There's so much blood, mucus, ichor, sputum and any other synonym you can think of for bodily discharges, that I sometimes think I should wear a mask when I read it. Thankfully, I don't think I have been infected yet.

The Countess Blathory story got me thinking; now that there is such a shortage of food in the U.K. perhaps the poor could turn the tables on those who have been feasting on them for so many years and start to eat the rich instead. I mean they must be good for something, right?

"Come on baby, bite that sucker!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.