The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Pearls of Rewell wood

So, so difficult today to decide what to blip!
My friend called me up this morning to go over to take some shots of her beautiful male Emperor moth, and this afternoon I went to the Sussex Butterfly conservation 'Pearls of Rewell wood part lll walk' to finally see and photograph the stunningly beautiful Pearl-bordered fritillary.
In the end I decided to blip the pearl bordered fritillary as I might get another chance to blip Emperor moths a bit later on, but I somehow feel this will be my only chance to blip the pearl borderers.
Rewell wood is privately owned with restricted access, and a working wood, consisting mostly of sweet chestnut which is coppiced in the traditional way.
This way of coppicing really helps the pearl-bordered fritillaries which feed on violets (only around in the early years following coppicing before the canopy develops again) and move from coppice to coppice following the violets and gaining them the name 'wood cutter's fritillary'
Today's blip is of a male resting on a tree trunk trying to warm up in the chilly weather. I chose it because you can see just a glimpse of the brown and black top wings as well as the stunningly beautiful underside.
Enjoy......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.