The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

not so slo(w)e bug!!!

I went to the amazing Southwater country park after work today.
The conservation area is great rough grassland with sunny high hedges, with lots of nettles and brambles....insect hunters heaven!
I found loads of things despite the cool and windy weather, mostly sitting on the grass flowers and bramble leaves.
It was then that I decided I would use my blips to showcase some of the bugs you can find there. yesterday a pearl-bordered fritillary butterfly....today ............. a sloe or hairy shield bug (Dolycoris baccarum) Sloe bugs are 11 - 12mm in length with banded black and white antennae and are purple brown and greenish in colour. They overwinter as adults, and are common in the south where they can be found in hedgerows and woodland edges.
This one was sitting on a blade of grass, and I just managed to catch it in my hand before it 'fell' off - a very effective defence mechanism!!
I think he is quite attractive, I hope you do too

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.