Nearly Blipless!!

The promised improving weather seemed very slow to materialise today, with the 'heavy' showers being quite frequent with only tiny respites of sunshine... somehow it matched the sadness in my heart, but really didn't help my Blipquest!
Apart from this I knew we still had to bury our beloved puss.
When I arrived home from work with a heavy heart I noticed this little weed Wood avens or Herb Bennet Geum urbanum growing amongst the aquilegias in my front garden. As a general rule, Mr U&L and I tend to leave wild plants to grow among the perennials (unless they are proper thugs!) as they have a beauty all of their own, and the wildlife loves them.
When I saw it's beautiful perfectly symmetrical flower, it really lifted my spirits, Like a little bit of sunshine just for me!
Wood avens is a common perennial plant of the rose family, it reaches a height of 20 - 60 cm, the flowers are hermaphrodite ( both sexes), scented and pollinated by bees. The burred fruit are dispersed by getting caught in animal fur, and it made me smile as Bruce often had them in his tail.
Later when the family came round, we placed Boo to rest under our old and beautiful Lilac tree, in the garden he loved so much...........it feels like the end of an era!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.