Zero Waste Christmas Cake

A few weeks ago I blipped the ingredients for a Christmas cake from the zero waste shop in Dunblane. Yesterday it was cut and sampled. I must say it's pretty tasty. I don't think a crumb will be wasted at the eating end of things. I don't use marzipan or royal icing and, in my view, the cake is all the tastier for that. I do have some cake decorations though - many years old and usually adorning something more like this.

We had a lovely day yesterday and although not everyone could be there (lurgy) those of us who could gathered for a few hours at my younger son's house. The three little ones did very well and the seven year old accompanied me on a dog walk so I had a bit of time to chat to her.

We had a meal with our daughter in the evening to keep the celebrations going and managed a mince pie later.

I enjoy Boxing Day and more so if it is a quiet one. I've walked Flora in rather icy conditions, fed the birds and I'm now settling down with a coffee and more cake.

Enjoy your day whatever you're doing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.