MY SUNSET STRIP BIRTHDAY

Last year was my Trombone birthday so this year it is my Sunset Strip one.  Those of a certain age may remember a programme, which I hadn’t realised was way back in 1958, called 77 Sunset Strip - hence my SS birthday!  I had a lovely relaxed morning opening cards and gifts from many friends - the funniest is the one from our next door neighbours - but originally from our friends, John & Beth.  

I thought the card was really funny, and knew our next door neighbour, Mike would appreciate it, so sent it to him in 2017;  we have passed it back and forth under the carport ever since, but the inside is getting rather full with various messages, so we will soon have to go onto the back of the card!  Well, why bother to buy a card when you can send the same one and still laugh - and who remembers from year to year what card was sent?  In fact, both my husband and I have a supply of cards too - he mainly because he always says it’s difficult to get a decent “Wife” card around Christmas, so that was how the “saving and re-using cards” began for us and of course, I always act very surprised every year.

Mr. HCB and I went out for a meal to celebrate my birthday and thoroughly enjoyed it - having had our younger son visiting all over Christmas, it was good for just the two of us to go out and be together.  I was chuffed when my dessert arrived together with a plate on which someone had inscribed the words “Happy Birthday“.  Following the meal, we went for a wander around Queen’s Park, just 5 minutes away, where I managed to get a good shot with a sort of sunset in the background - so that fitted in quite well with the theme of my birthday.

Our older son came round to see me just before tea and now our visitor and Mr. HCB are playing a game of cribbage in the conservatory, where there is much bantering and joking taking place - so I have shut the door to keep out the noise and think I will open my box of Black Magic, pour myself a Baileys and just chill out.  

“Life’s tragedy is that
     we get old too soon
          and wise too late!”
Benjamin Franklin

P.S.  Is anyone else having issues uploading extra photographs - I have 10 left, but still can't upload an extra?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.