Border Tails

By Swannie

Old Country Rose

My mum and her husband always visit my brother and his family on Christmas Day and cook a smaller Christmas dinner on Boxing Day. I was their only guest this year, Jim’s brother had friends to stay. It was a wonderful meal, I particularly like the homemade stuffing that mum makes using ham and cooks in a steamer.

The crockery, serving dishes, place and drinks mats are all Old Country Rose, by Royal Albert. It was her wedding china for her first wedding so some of it is older than me! She does have a table cloth to match, but this one is more Christmassy!

Yesterday, I had my usual lunch ordered from our local events caterer and heated up on the day. This year I pushed boat out, after a discussion on blip, and ordered Christmas pud. Never tasted it before, but it was rather lovely. A cross between a rich fruit cake and my Granny Swan’s clootie dumpling.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.