Celebration time

I hardly know where to begin.... at the beginning I suppose. 

When Aya was born, Robin and I announced that we would take her to see the Nutcracker ballet in London when she was seven.  We were all in Istanbul at the time, teaching at Robert College.  Since then, Ron, Yuki and little Aya have moved to Frankfurt, Robin moved to Baku (Azerbaijan) and I retired.

Fast forward to this summer, when realizing that Aya would turn 7 in October, and after considerable discussion via messenger, I bought tickets the matinee performance of The Nutcracker on 29th December at the London Coliseum which of course is why Ron Yuki and Aya arrived from Frankfurt on Tuesday, (although Ron isn't coming to the ballet) and Robin from Baku via Cardiff. 

And suddenly that's today! Maddy (extra) who'd also not been to a ballet. before), Robin and I left home at 10.30, met Yuki and Aya at Chelmsford railway station and started our journey.  Of course we didn't plan for rail strikes and track maintenance disrupting the rail service, but in time I guess we will just remember the protracted and uncomfortable journey of train, bus and packed underground as part of our story, as was the mediocre food eaten. What matters is that Aya never took her eyes off the stage, and we all had a wonderful time in the splendiferous theatre, our eyes filled with the  glamorous and spectacular sights, sounds, and beautiful dancing that is the Nutcracker ballet at the London Colosseum. 

As I write this, I am doubly happy as I realize that it is my Blipversary of 3650 daily pics, having started on New Year's Day in 2013. What can I say about this community that hasn't been said before ? Posting a photo every day and looking at the journals of others is completely embedded in my daily routine for the sheer joy of reaching out to others sharing and caring, and celebrating our lives together,  in a community like no other. I am grateful to each and every one of you. 

Long may our shutters continue to fall. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.