a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Between downpours

At one stage today, I really thought the rain was going to stop for long enough to allow me a bit of walk outside.  In the event, despite the promises of the weathermen it was clearly not a great day to be outside.  

I did take this shot of the nearby round hill, and you'd think that it might even have been a nice day, but it was raining 10 minutes before I took it and it was raining again about 10 minutes after I took it :-). Still its a great view and its ages since I've blipped it, so I reckon I'm allowed.

As it was, the task of getting the green recycling boxes down to the pavement for collection was exhausting.  It might have been something to do with those young people who came to stay with us emptying lots of bottles of alcohol - for while Cathy and I had a few drinks, it's probably been the most sober Christmas on record for us.  

So when the recycling collectors start whistling stamping and clapping in amazement when they try to lift the box to empty it tomorrow, I shall be able to hold up my head free from shame.  Nothing to see here - please move on ;-)

Speaking of drinking though, we've made a mental note to watch Dinner For One tomorrow night - I think you can stream it on Youtube.  Our European friends will probably be familiar with this black and white comedy, traditionally watched at New Year - but we Brits didn't know about it until our niece Charlie introduced us to it, after living in Munich for a while. If you've never seen it, do yourselves a favour and watch it - just don't try to take a drink of something alcoholic for every drink that the butler James takes....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.