pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Knives out

Rusty-plums and I had agreed to get together for a quiet couple of drinks this evening to have an overdue catchup.

Apparently he’d agreed the same with a few of his other pals too, so I thought what better way to endear myself to these interlopers than accidentally sending a full pint over one of them within five minutes of my arrival. It’s a small pub too, so everyone in the packed place saw what happened. 

Fortunately, my victim was very good about it, didn’t show that he had the knives out for me and wouldn’t hear of a compensatory drink from me. Regardless, it was definitely a moment where you would like a hole to open and swallow you up. Being Kendal, the rest of our company did the decent thing and spent the next half hour taking the p*ss out of the be-pinted and offering him a pizza from the local van to put in his crotch to help dry him off.  

Despite the inauspicious start, it was good fun after that and we all parted as friends. I didn’t stay for longer than a couple as I have some nice things lined up for New Year’s Eve, so meandered my way home and fell asleep in front of the first Knives Out film. I’d watched the second one last night and it was great!

The photo is of the table top, which I thought was rather a neat use of bottle caps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.