Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Review

Looking back at around half of the books that I’ve read this year. Some old favourites, some new (to me) writers, some that have been patiently waiting on my shelves for years, some which leapt straight from a charity shop to the top of my reading pile.

A quick review of the pile for three personal favourites:

1. Powers by Ursula Le Guin. No surprise as she’s been my favourite writer for most of my life, this is the culmination of her Annals of the Western Shore trilogy.

2. A Long Petal of the Sea by Isabel Allende. It’s been a while since I’ve read one of Allende’s novels, this was one of the family chronicles that she does best. 

3. A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest J. Gaines. A very moving story.

Let’s see what reading 2023 will bring.

Wishing you all a peaceful new year.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.