FROM CHRISTMAS TREE...

...to Calvary’s tree.  We had a great service at Church this morning when we were reminded that the thing we need to remember is that God’s story goes from the Christmas tree to Calvary’s tree - not that we seem to hear the word “Calvary” that much these days.  However, it was something that was spoken about very much more when I was younger and I was reminded of this song that we used to sing.  I do love the new songs, but sometimes, the old ones evoke so many memories;  I wonder if anyone reading this remembers it too? 

My collage shows the Christmas tree at the front of the Church with the cross on the other side, so I thought it would be a good reminder for me on this 1st day of January 2023.  

At the bottom of my collage are five pairs of small fingerless gloves that I have made for some of the younger members of our Church - and I have orders for one or two more, so at least that will keep my hands busy and stop me eating too many chocolates.  However, many of them  - the chocolates and not the gloves - will soon be consigned to the high cupboard in our hall and I will remember the last time I tried to sneak some and broke the cupboard door, so promise I won’t be doing that again.

We sang some great songs this morning and then, after we had shared Communion, had a short, but very apt sermon from Pete Morris, whose message in a nutshell was “God is with us, God has a plan and God will do it!”  Well, I’m glad that someone is in control, so I can take my hands off the steering wheel.  See my extra shot.  

May you all be blessed in 2023 and I am excited about all the possibilities for my life, not only here on Blip, but as I go forward knowing that God has a plan and that He will do it, but of course, I need to do my bit too!

“The Lord bless you
     and keep you; 
the Lord make his face shine on you
     and be gracious to you;
the Lord turn his face toward you
     and give you peace.”
Numbers 6 : 24-26 
The Bible : New International Version

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.