Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

ONE OF NATURE'S SCULPTURES

We stayed up to welcome in the New Year last night - and when we went outside, our lovely neighbours, Lynn and Mike were out too, so we exchanged New Year greetings and then came back in to watch the fireworks from London, which were spectacular.

This morning, I was late getting up and had a headache - perhaps the half glass of Prosecco and the various chocolates didn't help.  However, I can now confirm that my many and varied boxes of chocolates are now UP ON A HIGH SHELF - which means they are out of my reach, and I don't dare even think about getting out the steps to reach them!  The first Best Before Date is at the end of March and the last is November, so I have an eating window of eight months, by which time, I hope to have lost some more weight.  Hopefully, with my "DO MORE IN '24" Challenge, things, including my shape will change, or perhaps I should save the chocolates, because I don't think they will go off and make it a "NO MORE IN '24" Challenge, which might be more difficult for a chocoholic like me!

I spent the morning knitting more gloves and watched a programme we had recorded "The Hills are Alive with The Kanneh-Masons" - which showed the gifted young musicians visiting Salzburg and playing music from "The Sound of Music" - what a lovely programme.  

Mr. HCB asked me if I remembered the first time we saw this film together and I had to confess I didn't.  Apparently, it was on my birthday in about 1966 - and then he said we went back to his parents' home for supper - I must try harder to remember these important events!  

I decided to go out into the garden to see if I could find some flowers - Mr. HCB told me that there were several Hellebores blooming, but when I saw them, I was rather disappointed, because as they are so low down, they have been splashed with soil from the heavy rain we have had just recently.

I then wandered around and found another Hellebore, but need to wait a few more days to see the actual blooms, but I did find this - a beautiful, natural sculpture of a poppy seedhead, so this is my Blip for today.  However, I have decided to put the white Hellebore in as an extra - it does look rather eaten, and as Mr. HCB found six slugs in his greenhouse today, they have obviously been busy in the garden too!

I don't think we will be going out today, although for the first time for a few days, it's not raining, but I think a restful day is on the cards.  Happy New Year to you all!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.