Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

NOT QUITE WHAT I HAD ENVISAGED

We went to Church this morning and had a good service - the worship was great and in the excellent sermon, we were encouraged to think about what God has in store for us in 2024 - and that whatever it was, He would see us through - and to use a popular way of saying it -  "Whatever it is, God's got this!"  

I wasn't sure what I would use as my Blip today, but as we walked in, we saw someone wearing the sweat shirt on the left and it will come as no surprise to hear that this particular man is a keen Rugby Union fan!  I know nothing about this sport, other than the fact that 15 men run around a field, throw a curved ball at one another, sometimes catch it and either throw it through some large posts or throw themselves over a white line on the ground, still clutching the said curved ball.  They also appear to do silly things like grabbing one another's legs, arms and other extremities and then jiggle around, still joined together, with the ball nowhere to be seen and then miraculously it appears.  Even sillier than football, if you ask me!

Anyway, here is the sweat shirt and it is quite a funny play on words, so thanks to DG for letting me take this shot - he did have to pull it down and sit upright so that I could get all the words in the shot!

We had a good chat with various people after Church and then left to go and visit Howard, a friend of ours who has just retired.  I had made him a card before Christmas, but didn't post it as guessed we would see one another at some point over the Christmas break.  However, when we arrived at their house - and we knew his wife was working today - although we rang the bell several times, no-one answered the door.

We left, having pushed the cards through the door, thinking that perhaps Howard had taken his son to the station earlier than planned.  However, just after 2 o'clock, our doorbell rang and it was Howard - who brought us gifts from his wife - some of her home-made coleslaw and a chunk of her wonderful home-made Christmas cake.  It is quite a special cake and when I tell you that she soaks her fruit from about January to December before making it, you will get my drift.  You could get tipsy just smelling the cake - and although I don't normally like rum, I have quite got to like Jamaican Rum, which makes the cake quite a boozy one!  

Apparently, Howard had been late getting home from the Church he attends - our previous one - and Aaron, their son, had been in the shower, but all's well that ends well and my second shot is Howard and Mr. HCB, both smiling broadly.

We had a lovely hour or so with Howard - he and Mr. HCB are both very laid-back and although Mr. HCB had intended watching football, he said after Howard had left that he would much rather chat to Howard and I enjoyed our time together too.

I love the words of Minnie Louise Haskins and have put them on to a shot of a candle flame I took as they fit this rather well.  This was famously broadcast by HM King George VI as part of his 1939 Christmas broadcast - and I guess many people will know this, especially if you are of a certain age - although I hasten to add that I am not old enough to have heard it myself!  

We actually received a voice message from our son in Vietnam -  in response to mine to him as we left Church - who said it was 9 o'clock in the evening, but he wasn't staying up for another 3 hours to celebrate the New Year.  However, he wished us a Happy New Year and said he would get up for an early morning breakfast at about 5 or 6 o'clock tomorrow morning.

Mr. HCB and I wish you all a very Happy and Healthy New Year - may you receive all you need during the year and perhaps you, too, could "DO MORE IN '24"!   M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.