Nine

I had a message that indicated that this date would be my ninth anniversary on Blipfoto. It’s also in two days time if two leap days are accounted for.

I took this image in the morning, one of the black headed gulls on the science park pond. It is too easy to take for granted “common” birds. On close inspection - that red bill, smoky head, silver upper body and gleaming white elsewhere - these gulls are very smart looking.

Since January 1st 2014 I have uploaded a photo every day to this platform. It was a New Year’s resolution to take a photograph every day, and I wondered if there was anywhere to post them online so I could follow my progress. It’s become a daily habit, and I’ve found that it has helped me notice things, and see things more clearly. And I have learnt a lot along the way.

I had no idea about the community side until I was six months in - I had had a couple of people comment on a blip or two (which I remember being surprised about), discovered following someone else was “a thing” so decided to try that out, discovered some interesting journals, and here we are many years on. We all approach this platform in different ways of course, and that is in part what makes the Blipping experience interesting. The whole culture of courtesy, respect and being nice, as well as the community ownership of the platform, just makes it a comfortable place to share experiences.

I am of course back-blipping this. This day turned out very differently to how we had anticipated, normal service will resume in the near future.,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.