curns' corner

By curns

Twickenham

Wednesday is the day we have chosen to be in the office. There is some discussion about changing this but, this morning, I was out at 8am heading towards Staines.

The last few times I have done this journey I have gone via Clapham where I change for a train heading out towards the office.  This is the obvious and fastest route but around this time trains from Raynes Park to Waterloo are the busiest of the day and it’s a bit of a scramble to get on one. In fact, a couple of times I have had to let one train leave and get the following one.  Pre-COVID that scenario would have been frustrating but it’s bit more stress inducing today because there are fewer trains and therefore, they are not as frequent. This means people like me who rely on a connection have fewer options.

As a result I tried an alternative route this morning.  It is only marginally slower but is heading against the main flow of people for most of the journey.  It also requires a change, at Twickenham, but the journey is much more pleasant and it is much less crowded and I managed to find a seat. I suspect any delays on this route would be equally troublesome because there are fewer interchange options but, today, all was well.

While I was in the office today my new desk was delivered and installed. It’s the main reason why I had been decorating and decluttering the space that I work from.   It looks very nice but there remains a lot of sorting out to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.