curns' corner

By curns

Garlic bread

I managed the trains so that I was in by 8:45am even though the start time of our workshop had moved to 9:30am. Initially, I took a desk in the assigned area but realised that I shouldn’t hog a desk that I am not going to sit in. So, I found myself sat in the canteen - the very place I visited 12 months ago thinking I’m never going work in this building - with a cup of coffee staring at the expanding skyline over White City.  Looking out the window, I find it hard to quickly and easily get my bearings: it’s both an unfamiliar area and there’s so much construction I don’t know which tower is which. 

Eventually, at around 9:30am I went into the little meeting room assigned for the day. As I was one of the first, I took a seat at the far end. The room filled up and we concluded that the air conditioning isn’t working properly meaning that the door was propped open for the duration of the workshop. 

I learnt a lot about some existing technologies but I don’t think that was the point of the day. It was nice to spend time with this group of people who are going to be the core team for the work we will be doing. 

Afterwards, I had a catch-up with George. He’s booked a meeting room at the other end of the building which I took some time to find. And then I had a couple of chats with other member’s of the team I’d not met before.  I was introduced to one as “that” Jon. 

Afterwards, a small group went to the pub. I walked down with George but we couldn’t find anybody in the predetermined location. They’d all moved to another bar because service was so slow in the original. I had a pint of Peroni and a chat until I decided to take the train home. 

I’m quite pleased that I only stayed for one drink. I didn’t really have a lot to say and I wanted an early night again. This also meant that I was home to eat the pasta that PY cooked for dinner, alongside some unexpected homemade garlic bread which emerged out of foil from the oven. Very glad I left early.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.