curns' corner

By curns

Autumn

Another day feeling rested. I think my new regime of going to bed early is working. If only I could combine that with diet and exercise!

A stand-up, and intro to ‘contract testing’, another introduction to the Product Team, a catch-up with a colleague and a discussion on order creation in one of our systems was the working day. I didn’t get the final mandatory training competed. I aim to finish by Friday but I am in the office all day tomorrow and the calendar is looking booked for Friday. I still have the ambition.

Meanwhile, it’s the Conservative Party conference and the Prime Minister’s big speech. According to The Guardian, “Rishi Sunak unleashed a Tory civil war on Wednesday by announcing the scrapping of the northern leg of HS2 as the former prime minister David Cameron said the decision showed the country was heading in the wrong direction.”

While I disagree with that decision, the BBC reported on one that I think is a good idea: “Mr Sunak's speech also included the pledge that the age at which people can buy cigarettes and tobacco in England should rise by one year every year so that eventually no-one can buy them”.

There’s a train strike so I decided to avoid the bus-tube pain of going to Waterloo for my Tai Chi class. I am not sure this is the right thing to do but I decided staying home would be a better option. Instead we went for a walk. As soon as we left the house, PY said “it’s autumn” and it felt like it. The darker nights are obvious but it does mean that I get to take pictures like this one of night lights around the area. I have a spookily similar one from spring 2021 but I do like them.

I picked up some Amazon parcels: bin bags and USB cables. I think that says something about my life. Dinner was leftover stuffed marrow. Harry’s still leading the Celebrity Race Around The World.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.