curns' corner

By curns

Cabinet

Yesterday I mentioned that my new desk had arrived an been installed.  For many years I have had a (what seemed, at the time, quite expensive) desk riser on a cheap corner desk unit.  I have a number of #HomeOffice pictures that show it, notably this one from January 2021. This allowed me to have standing desk which I have always found beneficial even for the relatively small number of hours that I use it in the higher position each week. 

The desk riser came with two issues.  Firstly it takes up desk space that it doesn’t give back. The mechanism to raise and lower the desk riser unit consume space on the real desk and this probably is exacerbated because I use it on a corner desk which is oddly shaped.  The corner desk itself does not easily allow me to put my legs under it because there is a small printer shelf.  The end result is that while usable it’s not the most comfortable and I end up sat at strange angles.  

Now the the pandemic is over and working patterns are becoming a bit clearer, it is obvious to me that for the foreseeable future I will not be spending many days each week in an office. And so, as part of the room decoration, I decided to buy a proper sit-stand desk and, in the end, I opted for quite a large desk space.  Even after one day I can really feel the difference in space.

As a result I have been decluttering and removing furniture. I still have a lot to do. This cabinet, which used to sit next to the corner desk, is currently sitting in the hall way. I need to move it out of the way. The British Heart Foundation charity is coming to collect it but not for over a week. 

After I’d had an attempt to declutter some more I went the gym for half an hour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.