Last minute!

I decided that I shouldn't let the 1st of January pass by without some photographic record.  Although I began my morning with further `sifting' through images I'd taken in Barnsley, the thought of actually taking more images never featured for me and instead it became a day for washing and sorting out a bit more of Ann's attic as I wanted to put one of the boxes of Christmas decorations back up there.  After hoovering up the remains of flies and spiders I decided I'd bring one of Ann's photo boxes down with me, so late afternoon I actually got as far as looking through them.  Mostly I tore up hundreds of prints - it made me realise how much more of a `miss' print images were.  I found a whole set taken at a tulip festival in Harlem - one of those where they cover the. whole town square, and the reds were so over the top that they just had to go.  There was one photo of the opera singing woman on the Ferris wheel whose voice soared to the sky every time the wheel turned upwards - memories (it's not a good photo!  I think I have some digital images somewhere.  At least with those I can edit my output.  I ended the session with a bin full of torn-up photos.  

I also found some photos of Ann when she was much younger that I've not seen before, plus a set of very old images that I'm guessing no one will have a context for.  I think Ann's cousin Trevor might be the only person left who has any family memories now but I doubt if the photos will mean anything to him.  Then also, I must send the Gotterri images to David as I think he's the family archivist.

Back to the kitsch Christmas Tree - I bought it in the design gallery at Dean Clough, Halifax, when we visited years ago.  In some ways it's not very me and in other ways it makes a statement about Christmas so easily.  You just plug it in!  Apart from a few cards it's been my only decoration this year which means that packing away Christmas will be easy!  (The print behind is one of Jan's, which I've always liked.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.