Moor View

After the sogginess of the previous few days, all the world and his wife were out in the sunshine today.  Angela asked if I fancied a walk and I jumped at it.  We took off in to Deepcliff, pausing for a chat with Corinthian en route, who was taking a roundabout route from home to the Post Office.  Then it was up and across the moor, crossing on to Catstones Moor and down to the old quarries where I stopped to take this blip.  The quarries here suffered from a moorland fire a few years ago and the plant growth continues to recover.  For the last couple of years they have been clothed in a red growth which always reminds me of War of the Worlds!

I had forgotten how bad the lane was below the quarry here.  It has always been a pleasant walk but, for some reason, cows have been churning it up in recent months and it is now a quagmire.  Angela and I had to negotiate part of it to reach Dolphin Lane and it really was horrible, our boots needing a good hose down back home.

It was good to be out in the warm sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.