The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Slimbridge 2023

We are lucky enough to live near Slimbridge Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust, established by Peter Scott in 1945. As today was fair, as well as being the last day of my holiday, we decided to go there. When we arrived, it seemed as if everyone else had had the same idea!

Fortunately it is a large estate, and the attractions that were closed because of avian flu did not concern us. We headed off to the Estuary Tower, overlooking the Severn Estuary, and watched flocks of geese swirl and turn. Then I got frustrated because I had left my phone at home by mistake, and all the birds were too small and far away to capture with CleanSteve's phone (or any phone).

I wondered off and admired the red of the winter trees against the blue of the sky, and found the very posh South Lake Hide, which has comfortable seats and lots of glass, but also some stools and windows that can be opened. It was quiet there, apart from the birds. I think I could stay there all day, another time, just watching the comings and goings of several species.

At 4pm we reconvened in the Peng Observatory (another posh, heated space with seats) for the 4pm feeding of the wild Bewick swans, which is done by a man with a barrow and a microphone. The sun was setting over the lake, and it was a treat to see the swans and Pochards coming in to land. We've done this before, in fact it's become a winter ritual for us, but it never fails to amaze me, and to sadden me that Bewick's swans are still peppered with lead shot on their annual journey from the Arctic to the South West of England.

Back home, I have made a gluten-free blueberry frangipane tart. It is cooling down as I write. I have to say, it looks as if it's turned out well. Like the photo on the website, even. I will report back after eating (I may be some time...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.