Chilling

Life got back onto the carousel this morning after yesterday's New Year downtime. 

By 09:30 I was at the farm shop, satisfying the urgent need to replenish supplies in the house. The sales assistant told me she had not been able to get to work on Friday as a result of the flooding. She also told me the police had to close the road at the point where I turned back on Friday because cars had got stuck in the floodwater. 

My caution was appropriate. 

In the afternoon Junior came with me to watch Queen's Park v Partick Thistle - a Glasgow derby played at Stenhousemuir. Apart from the bone chilling cold (2ºc) it was very enjoyable. Partick Thistle was the better team for most of the game. Queen's Park won 2-0. 

I think the last game we went to together was Fenerbahçe v Gençlerbirligi in Istanbul. It was August*. It was 30ºc for a 9pm kick off. There was a riot - literally - after the referee sent off one of the home players. Stenhousemuir is more sedate. 

Ah yes, the Blip. Woodsmoke against a cold, blue January sky at the farm shop. The Extra is from the football obviously - the team has youngsters as mascots at home games, so they take a team photo with them. Nice touch.

* 2006, or thereabouts.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.