Reading

It was very hard to get up and get going this morning.  I logged on to work from the living room while eating my breakfast just to make sure that there were no unexpectedly early meetings added to my calendar. In fact, the opposite occurred and a meeting was removed. So it was a quiet start to the new year. It was a little cold in the room that I use as an office.  When we are away I turn the heating to a minimum, mainly just to stop anything from freezing, but I think this house takes time to come back to temperature. I consumed more coffee than needed in a bid to keep warm.

In 2022 I did manage to complete my Goodreads Reading Challenge, I read 13 books (more than the anticipated 12) and today’s the day I took the picture so that I can prepare to give all the competed books to charity. I also started to draft the summary counts that I write to my blog each year (last year’s counts are here.

Looking back at the books I have read is always fun. I really enjoyed discovering the Bryant and May series ("Golden Age Detectives in a modern world”) and I already have a couple more lined up for this year. I read a number of books are the radio business - and I always find them fascinating - and a couple about ITV (where I was working at the time). Perhaps the most influential book was Giles Turnbull's The agile comms handbook which has resulted in me keeping my weekly work report weeknotes habit. 

I quite liked the exercise stats I collated. Apparently, I went to the gym 38 times which is nowhere near where it should be but also much better than I imagined it would be. I was monitored taking 3,652,508 steps. My cumulative exercise distance is 1,721 miles (burning 253,432 kcal) and exercising for 16 days and 9 minutes in total. Quite interesting really and motivated me to go to the gym this evening.  It was a little busier than usual - we are in full ‘new year resolutions’ territory now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.