EDC

I watched a YouTube video by Maurice Moves (... every video I make revolves around one belief: that the most important things for us to pay attention to are the things we do and use every single day). And I learned a new acronym: EDC - everyday carry.

So I thought, what do I carry everyday? I quickly realised that it has probably not changed for decades. Even if I think about work vs weekends, because I am no longer office based, my everyday things are identical.

My keys ring is quite chunky now. There are a couple of big(ish) keys plus fobs for the alarm and the gym. And there’s the AirTag to track them if I ever misplace them. I often think of trying to reduce the bulk, mainly because these keys will - eventually - punch a hole in my trouser pocket. But it’s been this way for years. And yes, I am still carrying around a London 2012 keyring that I have been carrying around since 2012.

The specific wallet I use has changed over the years. It’s now fairly slimline to reflect that I use much less cash (in fact, carrying notes is a bit of pain) and that my phone can now be used as a credit card so I only keep a couple of physical cards (and I guess I could remove all but one of those) as an emergency fallback. I do have one supermarket loyalty card because I find, when scanning as I shop, the readers are better at recognising cards over phones.

It is the phone that had replaced most of the things I used to carry.

And I carry a handkerchief (and yes, I selected a clean one before taking the picture). Some people seem surprised that I still carry one but I am always surprised when I come across people who don’t.

The main thing with all of these items is that my selection of them each day is unconscious and, therefore, they (with the exception of the phone) must be left in the same location by my bed. If I place any one of those items in an unusual place - or forget to take it out of a pocket - I run the risk of leaving home without it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.