curns' corner

By curns

A leak

Around lunchtime I saw an email PY forwarded from the managing agent of the block of flats on the Isle of Wight. The downstairs neighbour was reporting water leaking into his bathroom.. After a brief discussion and a check of my diary, I realised I could be there before 5pm if I left almost immediately. So, I did  

When I arrived I found that the leak as coming from above us. But, because we hadn’t been there to notice it, it had run down the walls to form a small pool of water on the bathroom floor which was, most likely, the cause of the intrusion below. The insurance people were lovely. The emergency line is, obviously, outsourced and they had no record of our policy but she said it happens all the time. She took a credit card number “just in case” and set the wheels in motion. I checked that I had time to go and get some food as there was nothing in the flat. 

While I was in the Co-op, I got the text to say the job has been allocated but it was another hour before the plumber called. He was about to go to a job in Cowes and then would be with me. Ten minutes later there was a change of plan and he was heading to me. That was fortunate because, when he arrived, he could see the issue was upstairs and we went and knocked. The plumber immediately found a leak; it was behind the toilet, accessible and fixable.

Finally, sorted and I, eventually, relaxed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.