A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

A day of taking down

Here Chris and his fellow church warden, M are taking down the outdoor Nativity outside our church. We have had it a number of years and it will need to some work if it is to come out again next year.

Meanwhile I was inside with friend B taking down the church Christmas tree, likewise it is showing signs of it’s age but we’ve packed it and it’s baubles away carefully for next year - don’t tell anyone but we decided to dispose of the headless santas!

As you can see it’s been another gloomy day but it has been very warm. In the church family room they were preparing lunch for luncheon club, the heat hit you when you walked through the vestry, poor old folks will be cooked themselves!

Back home I took a look around the garden as it wasn’t actually raining. I’ve seen snowdrops on blip but I had to look under the remains of last years Pasque flowers to find ours. They are visible but nowhere near flowering. Lots of shoots of the early crocus coming through under the Magnolias and pink and white buds on the hellebores. The leaves want cutting back on those so they get more light but this wet weather hasn’t encouraged gardening.

I then took all the decorations off the tree and packed them away. Had a struggle to close the box and had to accommodate the angel from the top elsewhere, that’s what you get with adding new things each year, quite a lot this year! 

I’ve left the tree and the lights to enjoy another evening of their sparkle.

Other than that it’s been a day of making appointments. A delayed letter from the Dr’s surgery, and yet another late Christmas card, came this morning requesting I make an appt for my annual blood test. My hairdresser contacted me as she cancelled my appt on Tuesday to ask if I could manage Fri or Sat afternoon, so I’m going tomorrow - alleluia! 
Then I rang the opticians as I believed I hadn’t been for two years and feel I’m struggling a bit with my current prescription. They say I went last year (Dec 2021) and wasn’t due for another 12 months but have made me an appt. for next week. I was sure it was the year before. Certainly haven’t changed my glasses for some time. 
I think it will be an expensive start to the year! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.