I got out of the car at The Climbing Unit and then saw Alan arriving, so I gave him the book "Ballooning Over Everest" in which he is mentioned. Only once, but it's a claim to fame! He doesn't do online and I'd found the book for £3.50, which amazed him, and said I'd give it to him when I'd read it.

He'd got Nicola and her son Joshua in the car, which was nice as I've heard so much about them - Alan often watches Joshua, who's about 7, while Nicola climbs. After a quick chat I got on with the climbing. An hour later I'd had enough but thought I'd do just one more, which was at the top of my grade. I got to the top and then found I couldn't get down easily, there being no easy routes nearby. But I managed, with difficulty, to descend the blacks while the bloke I'd been chatting to spotted me. Phew!

Home, lunch, packing for Coniston with the club. I'd intended to do some papering, but it didn't get done. 

I sent a message to bossman checking that he hadn't forgotten about me, since he's still got to lay the strip of tarmac to join the drive to the pavement. He replied quickly, assuring me that he hadn't forgotten and it would be done in the next week or two.

Edit: the turf has rooted thank goodness, I've just been out and tugged at it. That wasn't the case before Christmas, but it had a tough start with that week of freezing temperatures. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.