To keep on going

I love Portland rainy winters. Shops look like jewel boxes, reflections are marvelous, and people squint their eyes against the rain but keep on going. 

Saw a physical therapist today about various structural issues. My muscles are good, my range of motion is good, and he gave me a whole new view of myself. I always laughingly say, “I’m no athlete,” as an understatement. But I learned that given the severe rheumatic fever of my childhood and all that followed, most of my cartilage was destroyed back then, my muscles atrophied and needed much work to come back, and all my movements, all these years, are many times more difficult than for a person who didn’t have all that. So I actually AM an athlete. Brought tears to my eyes. 

We don’t all start from what they call a level playing field.

Comments off. I have meetings and many things to deal with over the next few days, won’t be able to spend much time here. But blessings to us all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.