Living my dream

By Mima

Build-up

It was hot again today, reaching 28C. And the humidity was also high, so doing absolutely anything outside resulted in horrible amounts of sweat. Mind you, that made this evening’s shower even more enjoyable than usual.

At lunchtime I looked up and saw this pile of clouds to the west and checked the forecast. A severe thunderstorm had just been issued by MetService, so Bean and I had a walk immediately, before running the risk of being caught in it.

My sensible dog got into every available puddle and pool of cool water as we walked. I just dripped, not game to join her in the shallow creek with a gloopy mud bottom.

Thunder could be heard approaching us very slowly, and by the time we got home most of the blue sky was grey. The storm became a humdinger. It went on for three hours of more or less continuous rumbling and cracking. The penultimate lightning struck something crucial and off went the power.

Fortunately the lines company had plenty of warning, which was presumably the reason it was back on 30 minutes later…and in time for me to jump under the shower to wash off the day.

Todays harvest:
Broad beans for six people

It looks as though I’ll be able to suspend the watering schedule for a few days: it’s pouring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.