wrbradley

By wrbradley

Now and then!

Today I have tried to replicate a photograph that was taken, I estimate going by the model of the two cars in the image, back in the 1920s.  It's interesting to look for what has changed over the intervening 100 years or there about.  Taking direction from the vintage image I positioned myself looking straight up The Brae from the far side of Victoria Square.   Buildings on the right and left hand side of The Brae remain the same with only small alterations.  The low wall on the extreme right is still here in part.  The main change is the taller building on the left hand side has been replaced, although the chimney gable end survives.   Interesting to see that the Old Railway Hotel used to be called Frame's Railway Hotel and if you look closely, the mounting / dismounting stone on the corner is still in place today.

My image was taken with a 50mm lens, ignore the Blipfoto meta data, which I suspect was a similar focal length used for the original photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.