wrbradley

By wrbradley

Another now and then image

You think you have photographed your home location to death, but something new always turns up.  I found an old photograph of our old post office and railway station and so I thought I would take a comparison photograph today.  Several interesting things emerge.  The anchor point for choosing my angle is the clock tower on the old school, the most prominent building in the village.   From this everything fell into place.  Was surprised to see that the old tree still survives today, I think it's an oak tree.  The original building has been largely replaced, but I did note the higher level window at the end of the present building, which I was told some time ago was at the same level of the railway platform before it was removed.  I wonder is the wall in front of the old station the same one as exists today, not sure!  The original image is in my extra photo window for you to compare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.