Two new visitors

A busy day today, belatedly taking down the Christmas decorations. It involved a lot of stair climbing up to the loft room, which activity I feel slightly compensated for the lack of a walk.

I was very excited to spot the first female blackcap in the garden this winter, as I stood at the kitchen window after lunch. I had to grab the nearby binoculars to be sure, and when they confirmed the sighting, I dashed to get my camera. Unfortunately the battery was dead and, by the time I’d fitted a fresh battery and run back to the kitchen, the blackcap had flown off. 

While I was standing there, though, camera in hand, I spotted a greenfinch – which is another first sighting for me this winter. It was soon joined by this goldfinch, so that’s today’s blip. I did get a shot of the blackcap a little while later, but it wasn’t a very good image – the light has been very poor today – so I’ll save that for another day and hopefully get a better picture next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.