Only the Full Wolf Moon Howls

"There are nights when the wolves are silent and only the moon howls." - George Carlin.

My husband and I were talking about when to take the big Christmas tree by the deck doors down. I said Epiphany, and then I looked it up, and that already happened. So we agreed to have one last hoorah for Christmas this weekend, and then on Monday, I'll take down the tree and put it in storage for the year.

So the Christmas lights are on all weekend. Per my husband's request, I made one of my special pizzas, while he put Handel's Messiah on the CD player. It was very festive and the pizza turned out well. You may see our Christmas tree and that pizza in the extra photos. We migrated from the Messiah into Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker Suite.

There was very big news on the horizon at bedtime, for January's full wolf moon was out there howling, and go out and howl with it, I must! The angle of the moon was straight up in the sky, and there was some frozen precip on the front steps, so I just lay down at the edge of the front porch and took about a hundred moon-shots, facing straight up.

The moon had a marvelous orange corona, and the clouds came and went, giving us that peep-show which is always so fun: peekaboo moon. Yes, that's my idea of a good time! Would you like to join me on my front porch? Who cares what the neighbors think? Let's howl at that big glowing orb in the nighttime sky!!!! Ow-OOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

My soundtrack songs are these: for that big, marvelous wolf moon, Duran Duran's Hungry Like the Wolf; and for our happy Handel's Messiah/Christmas tree/pizza moment in the extras, here's the Royal Choral Society, with the Hallelujah Chorus, from the Messiah.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.