Ahead of Me, Nothing But Unbroken Snow!

Just another ordinary miracle today - it snowed! We got about three inches of light, powdery snow overnight, and my husband and I went out and did snow removal on the cars and drive way for about an hour. Then it was time for my walk, and what a walk it was!

I hiked to the top of Tow Hill and made a happy discovery. The entrance road to the Barrens was plowed shut, and there were no tracks in the gamelands yet. Amid freshly fallen snow, the Scotia Barrens belonged to me, and to me alone!

So I did what any girl would. I walked along the top, sunshiny path, and I took pictures, and was happy. It was cold - in the low 20s F - and the sun came and went, and the wind blustered through and whipped the snow out of the trees and sent it swirling, until the light hit it and turned it into magic. (You may see a blustery, blowing-snow shot in the Extras.)

Johnny Cash should sing a song Shall the Snow Remain Unbroken, and I would buy it! For it was a wonderful experience. No tracks but mine, the path spreading out ahead of me, with unlimited potential, and the drama of the sun and wind to move and light that blowing snow. Wow! Hello, beautiful winter!

My soundtrack song is this one: Sarah McLachlan, with Ordinary Miracle.

It's not that unusual
When everything is beautiful
It's just another ordinary miracle today

The sky knows when it's time to snow
Don't need to teach a seed to grow
It's just another ordinary miracle today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.