Tilted Jug

I received this tilted jug planter for Mother's Day along with the flowers to plant inside it. I always loved the way these types of planters give the look of the flowers spilling out onto the ground. I was excited to get it situated in the garden and had a perfect spot for it.
As I was clearing the area to level it I lifted a stepping stone in order to move it further away from where the planter would go and I saw something moving in the dirt. I have to admit that although I love to garden, I hate bugs. My grandchildren were outside with me and when I realized what was moving I let out a little gasp. My grandson came running over with his little baseball bat in hand and asked me what it was. I told him it was a cicada and that it was digging its way up after being in the ground for 17 years. I also might have said I thought they were gross and that I wish they weren't going to be making an appearance this year.
My grandson asked me if I wanted him to kill it (I'm sure the look of disgust on my face had him worried) and of course I said yes! He kindly took a swing at it with his plastic baseball bat and told me 'just tell me if you see any more grammie and I'll get them for you'....little does he know it would soon be a full time job if we get as many of these creepy bugs as expected. For now there was one less cicada and with a little help from both grandchildren a beautiful tilted jug of flowers in its place!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.