Portrait of an Amaryllis in a Dirty Window

How's that for a catchy subject?! 

As promised, I drove to the grocery store to pick up my order this morning. Dan (ex to be) came along for the ride, for which I was eternally grateful. Then I went through the drive through window at the pharmacy to get a prescription. And back home again with no problem whatsoever. Of course then I had to lie on the couch for a while...gosh this getting out of the house stuff is draining!

I did the usual physical therapy exercises today, had a short walk in between rain showers, and did the bike again today too...this time I could move my knee the full revolution much sooner. I like when the exercises really work and one can see the progress.

A friend stopped by with some veggies from her winter CSA pick up, which was this morning. She already had so many that, well, she had too many so thought of me. Great stuff: radicchio, shallots, a small Kobocha winter squash, a couple of leeks and a bunch of thyme. All of a sudden I realized that I no longer have access to all the herbs I used to grow, so the thyme was great fun. I looked at it all and thought it would make a great soup. Now I just need to find the energy to make it!

Tomorrow I head off for my 2 week plus post op visit at the surgeon's. I'll drive myself and will probably have to spend the rest of the day on the couch with an ice pack ;-)

A friend of mine gave me this gorgeous amaryllis for a Christmas/housewarming present. I actually think it's going to be white, as yellow as it looks currently. When the sun shone in the kitchen window, it looked so lovely, despite the dirty window (which was spotless when I moved in...it's the rain). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.