pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Locked up

I woke from a disturbed night’s sleep to the wind and rain howling around.

LadyV and her girls were up and out ridiculously early, leaving me in bed to finish my cup of tea before getting ready for the day ahead which was to be spent in the office.

To her credit, LadyV did remember to leave me a key with which to lock up, but unfortunately it was not the key to her particular front door, nor any other doors in her house for that matter. Believe me, I tried them all. So, I was trapped in her house.

Still groggy from the lack of sleep, I called her and like a dog about to soil the carpet, asked to be let out. With some time to kill before she arrived - and seemingly completely ignorant of the fact that I could have gone out the back - I thought I would make the most of it and get my blip for the day. 

LadyV eventually set me free and immediately accused me of tampering with and/or giving her a key that wasn’t mine to give to her to give back to me to lock up her house. I apologised profusely for an error that I hadn’t made (although, not going out the back was pretty stupid) and we went our separate ways, none the wiser for who or what the key in question was actually for.

With the day that I went on to have, I probably should have remained detained at her Ladyship’s displeasure. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.